
From: Robert Vaessen dungeon_master@robsworld.org
Subject: Re: Imago final

Date: February 17, 2012 at 11:04
To: Sean O'Brien sobrien4444@yahoo.com

Sean -

I can't remember everything about every magic item that every character has, so it might have helped if you had mentioned the 
'Spirit of Flame' endowment on your hands (i.e. the magic item I generated for Imago).

From your 'Spirit of Flame' ability/magic item: In addition to hurling fireballs which 
cause damage, you may imbue each fireball with a single spell (maximum spell level is 
3rd: If a single fireball is imbued, the spell level may be up to 3rd. If two fireballs are 
imbued the max level per fireball is 2. If three fireballs are imbued with spells, the 
maximum spell level on each fireball is 1st). Any spell with a range of 'Touchʼ may be 
applied to a fireball. Expending the normal actions/time associated with the casting of a 
particular spell will imbue a single ʻFireballʼ with that spell. You may cast/imbue up to 
three spells in order to imbue up to three fireballs with touch spells. Once you have 
imbued fireball(s) with spell(s), you may then hurl the fireball(s) to deliver the touch 
attacks (in addition to the flame damage described earlier). A successful ʻrangedʼ attack 
does not immediately indicate success with the ranged spell imbued in the fireball. You 
must also succeed with a ranged ʻtouchʼ attack in order to trigger the spell effect of the 
imbued spell. Once a fireball is imbued with a spell, the spell may not be changed. You 
may ʻcarryʼ up to three ʻimbuedʼ fireballs for a period of 24 hours. The imbued spell will 
expire (with no effect) if not used within 24 hours. When attacking with imbued fireballs, 
you must specify which spell effect is applied to each fireball before the ranged attack 
roll(s) is/are made. 

Because you have the 'Spirit of Flame' supernatural ability, you may imbue your spirit of flame fireballs to carry and convey the 
sonic attack bestowed under 'Clap of Thunder'. That's not quite the same as a 'Fireball' spell, but it is permitted in accordance 
with the spirit of flame ability. Since there is no 'casting time' associated with the use of this Feat, the amount of time to imbue 
your spirit of flame fireballs with a clap of thunder will be equal to the amount of time it takes to cast the highest-level sonic spell 
you have available to cast. If you expend the normal action/time associated with the casting of your highest-level sonic spell, then 
one of your spirit of flame fireballs will be imbued with the clap of thunder sonic attack powers. 

You can use the Clap of Thunder feat to imbue your Spirit of Flame fireballs (up to three) with the sonic attack powers. This will 
not require/cause the loss of a spell, but it does take time to imbue the fireball(s) with the sonic attack powers.

You can still carry these imbued fireballs for a period of 24 hours.

- Robert

On Feb 17, 2012, at 09:49, Sean O'Brien wrote:

The whole reason I took it... so I'd never run out of spells and and could use it to charge the 
fireballs.  I thought I could charge each of three fireballs with 1d6 sonic.

--- On Thu, 2/16/12, Robert Vaessen <dungeon_master@robsworld.org> wrote:

From: Robert Vaessen <dungeon_master@robsworld.org>
Subject: Re: Imago final
To: "Sean O'Brien" <sobrien4444@yahoo.com>
Date: Thursday, February 16, 2012, 6:00 PM
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Date: Thursday, February 16, 2012, 6:00 PM

Sean -

You cannot use 'Clap of Thunder' with 'Fireball'. According to 'Complete 
Mage' page 40...

CLAP OF THUNDER
[RESERVE]
You can deliver a thunderous roar with a touch.
Prerequisite: Ability to cast 3rd-level spells.
Benefit:
As long as you have a sonic spell of 3rd level or
higher available to cast, you can deliver a melee touch attack as a standard action. This attack deals 
1d6 points of sonic damage per level of the highest-level sonic spell you have available to cast. 
Additionally, the subject must succeed on a Fortitude save or be deafened for 1 round.
As a secondary benefit, you gain a +1 competence bonus to your caster level when casting sonic 
spells.

Clap of Thunder is used with a 'Melee Touch Attack'.

- Robert

On Feb 16, 2012, at 11:29, Sean O'Brien wrote:

Well, as we get older we forget what we've allowed in the past.  But that's okay if the rules 
have changed.  One question then... can I use clap of thunder to power up the fireballs?

--- On Wed, 2/15/12, Robert Vaessen <dungeon_master@robsworld.org> wrote:

From: Robert Vaessen <dungeon_master@robsworld.org>
Subject: Re: Imago final
To: "Sean O'Brien" <sobrien4444@yahoo.com>
Date: Wednesday, February 15, 2012, 6:13 PM

Sean -

We have started. I don't believe it would be fair to the others to allow changes to 
your character now that we've begun the adventure. The party teleported to 
Kester (a town in Greyhawk), you met with Tekelut Thringus, accepted his 
mission, bought some supplies and rode off into the desert (or at least the road 
south that skirts the desert).

Clap of Thunder is a pretty cool feat. I suggest you do your best to make good 
use of it. At this point, you'll need to wait to change your feat.
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use of it. At this point, you'll need to wait to change your feat.

- Robert

On Feb 14, 2012, at 19:23, Sean O'Brien wrote:

Rob,
Would like to change a feat... 
I have a reserve feat listed as clap of thunder, but since we haven't 
started yet, would like to change it to precise shot.
Would that be okay?
SeanO


